A Black Aupair in Mexico- Part 3

Our First Vacation

Every year the family takes a summer trip before school starts to Tequesquitengo, nicknamed “Teques”. When I say family, I don’t mean the immediate family that I work for. I mean my family and three other families- spouses and children. So including the housekeeper, there were 15 people on this trip and we all stayed in one villa together.

Before we arrived at the villa, we went to Costco to go grocery shopping. They made a menu for the four days that we would be there and each family was responsible for a day of snacks and meals. We stacked up on lots of wine too! It’s not important but I wanted to add that because I love wine. LOL

Teques is an hour drive from Tepoztlan so the car ride was quick. When we arrived, I underestimated the beauty of Teques, it was not what I expected at all. I wasn’t sure what I thought the villa would look like but it was so peaceful. It was designed like a zen hotel. There was lots of natural light, plants, and a meditation room big enough to hold eight to ten people. The villa was an open concept, where you can be outside and inside at the same time.

The kitchen was downstairs on a large covered eating area that had a beautiful view of the lake. The pictures don’t do justice to how breathtaking it was.

Most of the mornings were spent doing yoga and watching the kids swim in the pool. I did activities with them like painting, treasure hunts, puzzles, and board games. My day ended at 5 or 6 pm. After that, I mingled with the parents and we would chat and drink wine. It was kind of difficult to converse with them because I understand very little Spanish but they were patient with me and sometimes they would translate into English for me. I wouldn’t stay long because I didn’t want to be a burden or interrupt the flow of their conversation so I would go to my room and enjoy the view. This really motivated me to take Spanish classes, in which I did find a teacher and we still have classes even though I’m back in the States.

I really understood living a simple life and enjoying the fruits of your labor in Teques. The families really looked out for each other, it was more of a family built from a community. They looked out for each other in a way that I wish the U.S. would. Music played in the background and they drank wine and ate desserts. It was like it was a glimpse of the life that I always wished for. It wasn’t flashy and they didn’t live above their means, it was just a community of families enjoying what really matters.

I swam in a lake for the first time. I am terrified to swim in water that is not clear. I’ve watched too many ocean movies to know that the unknown lives in water. LOL. But when you conquer a fear, a feeling of calmness and freedom overflows your body. Moving abroad was the best decision that I’ve ever made. I conquered a lot of fears and my comfort zone has become unfamiliar to me now.

Do you want to know how I began this journey? How was I able to get through my tough years? I wrote three Ebooks that will help you figure out what’s best for you.

Shop on my Holistic Store and find what fits you.

One thought on “A Black Aupair in Mexico- Part 3

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started